News

EVENT: Indigenous women in the pandemic: Lessons of repression and resistance

Events |

On the occasion of the 48th session of the UN Human Rights Council (HRC), which will review the impact of COVID-19 on indigenous peoples and discuss indigenous peoples’ initiatives to combat and recover from the pandemic, and following the launch of MRG’s Minority and Indigenous Trends Report 2021, which presents ten lessons that states must learn from the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the rights of minorities and of indigenous peoples, this online event will seek to continue the discussion by focussing in particular on the situation of indigenous women and girls during the pandemic: how they have been affected, how they have mobilised resources to respond to the situation, and what we can learn in order to build a post-pandemic world free from racial and gender injustice.

Date: Tuesday 28 September 2021
Time: 6:00 am Guatemala City | 8:00 am New York | 1:00 pm London, Bangui | 2:00 pm Brussels, Geneva | 3:00 pm Kampala | 6:00 pm New Delhi
Duration: 1 hour

You will hear from:

  • Francisco Cali Tzay, UN Special Rapporteur on the rights of indigenous peoples
  • Christine Kandie, Executive Director, Endorois Indigenous Women Welfare Network (EIWEN), Kenya
  • Lina Marcela Tobón Yagarí, Director, Akubadaura, Comunidad de Juristas, Colombia
  • Andrea Ixchiu, Maya-K’iche, human rights defender and journalist, Guatemala
  • Samrawit Gougsa, Head of Communications, Minority Rights Group International

The event, which will be available in English and Spanish, will be moderated by Joshua Castellino, Executive Director at Minority Rights Group.

To register, please fill out the form below:
Registration for this event is now closed.

Watch the event

Photo: An Emberá Indigenous woman in the makeshift camp in a park in the centre of Bogotá. At least 400 people had been sleeping in plastic tents for a month, due to the pandemic and the lack of job opportunities. Credit: Daniel Garzon Herazo.

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest news about minorities and indigenous peoples from around the world.

Share this content

Related content
Documentary films
Events
News and blogs
News from our projects
Opinion
Press releases
Statements
Advocacy statements
Programmes
Publications
+ VIEW MORE