Advocacy Statements

Status of peace and justice for indigenous peoples of East Africa: our recommendations

Advocacy Statement |
Earth Day 2020

UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues, 20th session – Side event hosted by Minority Rights Group International
20 April 2021 at 8:00 am EDT / 1:00 pm BST / 2:00 pm CEST / 3:00 pm EAT – Our recommendations

Dear Madam Chairperson,

The side event took place as scheduled through a webinar organised by Minority Rights Group International (MRGI). The focus was on the Batwa of Uganda; Irob and Kunama of Ethiopia; Endorois, Samburu, Borana and Turkana indigenous peoples of Kenya and Mbororo peoples of Cameroon, Chad and Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

The following recommendations were made for your consideration:

  • Conflicts affecting indigenous peoples should be mitigated by ensuring representatives of these communities (including women) are involved in negotiating tables and more importantly indigenous languages should be used through hiring the services of translators and interpreters.
  • Governments in Eastern and Central Africa and other actors working towards attaining peace, justice and strong institutions should put in place Early Warning Systems mechanisms to mitigate wars and conflicts which have a negative impact on peace, justice and strong institutions;
  • State parties should promote access to information for indigenous peoples in East and Central Africa;
  • Participants requested the United Nations bodies to conduct an international and independent investigation into the alleged human rights violations and war crimes committed against the civilians in Tigray region of Ethiopia.

Contact person: Geoffrey Kerosi, Minority Rights Group International – geoffrey.kerosi@minorityrights.org

Photo: Turkana Pastoralists, Kenya. Credit: Panos / Frederic Courbet.

Share this content

Related content
Documentary films
Events
News and blogs
News from our projects
Opinion
Press releases
Statements
Advocacy statements
Law and legal cases
Programmes
Publications
+ VIEW MORE