External opportunities

Grants for CSOs working in the border regions in Central Asia

External opportunity |
Grants for CSOs working in the border regions in Central Asia

The International Centre for Migration Policy Development (ICMPD) released a call for proposals as part of the Border Management Programme in Central Asia Phase 10 (BOMCA 10) for non-profit civil society and non-governmental organisations working in the border regions of the Central Asian states.

Maximum grant amount: EUR 55,000
Deadline for application: 13 June 2022, 17:00 Vienna local time

Applications should fall under one of the priority areas below:

  1. Research and analysis in the area of migration, cross-border and related areas;
  2. Awareness raising on irregular migration and trafficking in human beings prevention, as well as on issues of concern for population affected by migration;
  3. Assistance to vulnerable groups of population affected by migration and border proximity (in particular to children and women left behind by migrants);
  4. Support to entrepreneurship, including social entrepreneurship initiatives, of all groups of population and among women, as a special category;
  5. Facilitation of CSOs and NGOs working in the border regions networks and forums for discussing and cooperating in migration and cross-border areas.

The project design and outcomes should benefit the population residing in at least one border area of the five Central Asian states, as specified below:

  1. Kazakhstan: the Mangystau region, the Aktobe region, the Kyzylorda region, the Turkistan region, the Jambyl region, and the Almaty region;
  2. Kyrgyzstan: the Jalal-Abad region, the Batken region, the Osh regon, the Chui region, the IssykKul region and the Talas region;
  3. Tajikistan: the Khatlon region, the Sughd region, the Lakhsh district, the Rasht district, the Rudaki district, the Shahrinav district, and the Murghob district, and the Tursunzoda district;
  4. Turkmenistan: the Balkan region, the Daşoguz region ; and the Lebap region;
  5. Uzbekistan: the Andijan region, the Bukhara region, the Fergana region, the Jizzakh region, the Khorezm region, the Republic of Karakalpakstan, the Namangan region, the Navoiy region, the Qashqadaryo region, the Samarqand region, the Sirdarya region, the Surkhandarya region, and the Tashkent region


In order to be eligible, the Lead Applicants must be legally registered in one of the Central Asian states and be one of the following types of non-profit organisations: Civil society Organisation, Non-Governmental Organisation, Public Association, Foundation, Research institution (public or private).

The Actions can be implemented by a single CSO/NGO or in a consortium of two or more Central Asian CSOs and/or NGOs jointly targeting a border area of a Central Asian state.

Application and submission information

Applications shall be submitted on the ICMPD electronic Application Platform as described in the manual published on the same portal.

Application templates and all other relevant documents are available for download upon registration on the ICMPD Electronic Application Platform.

The Call for Proposals Guidelines are available in English and Russian.

Find more information here.

Share this content